Overview
Case summary
This case involves a suit on an accident insurance policy issued by Preferred Accident Insurance Company to the plaintiff's husband, who died on July 12, 1895. The policy insured against death from bodily injury caused solely by external, violent, and accidental means, but contained exceptions for injury from anything taken, administered, absorbed, or inhaled, and for death resulting from medical or surgical treatment. The insured died after a physician administered chloroform in a proper manner to relieve pain during a procedure to replace protruding piles; he suffocated and died from a combination of the chloroform acting in an unusual way and an unknown cause. The defendant demurred, arguing the declaration stated no cause of action. The Circuit Court, per Judge Newman, sustained the demurrer, holding that the death was not caused solely by external, violent, and accidental means as required by the policy, and fell within the exceptions for things inhaled and medical treatment. The court relied on precedent (Bayless v. Insurance Co.) and found no liability, affirming that the plaintiff failed to state a claim.
Abstract
The plaintiff sued on an accident insurance policy after the insured died from suffocation due to chloroform administered properly by a physician during a medical procedure for pain relief, combined with an unknown cause. The policy covered death from bodily injury caused solely by external, violent, and accidental means but excluded injuries from inhaled substances and death from medical or surgical treatment. The court sustained the defendant's demurrer, holding that the declaration failed to state a cause of action as the death did not meet the policy's coverage requirements and fell within the exceptions.
Opinion of the court
opinionNEWMAN, District Judge
- Death not caused solely by external, violent, and accidental means per policy
- Death falls within exceptions for things inhaled and medical/surgical treatment
- Declaration fails to state cause of action
- Controlled by Bayless v. Insurance Co. precedent
Procedural posture
- Whether declaration states a cause of action under the insurance policy
Legal categories
Case record
Issues & holdings
de novo
Court held death did not result solely from external, violent, and accidental means as required by policy, and fell within exceptions for things inhaled and medical/surgical treatment
Issue preserved for review
Holdings of the court
Statutory interpretation
2Burden of proof
Standards of review
- Interpretation of insurance policy terms and whether declaration states cause of action — de novo Court construes policy language and reviews legal sufficiency of declaration without deference
Timeline
Insured died after physician administered chloroform for pain relief during procedure to replace protruding piles; suffocated, became black in face, gasped, and died from combination of chloroform and unknown cause
Outcome: Death of insured
Central factual event giving rise to insurance claim; death allegedly not from chloroform alone but from combination with unknown cause
Circuit Court heard case on demurrer; sustained demurrer, holding declaration stated no cause of action
Outcome: Demurrer sustained
Final disposition of case; court ruled plaintiff failed to state claim under insurance policy
Facts & evidence
Incident
Key facts
9 facts- Plaintiff's husband (insured) died on July 12, 1895
- Defendant issued an accident insurance policy to insured during his lifetime, in force at time of death
- Policy insured against death from bodily injury caused solely by external, violent, and accidental means
- Policy contained exceptions: no liability for injury resulting from anything taken, administered, absorbed, or inhaled; and no liability for death resulting from medical or surgical treatment
- Insured suffered from protruding piles (hemorrhoids) requiring replacement
- Competent physician administered chloroform in proper way and quantity to relieve pain during procedure
- Before insured was under influence of chloroform, he suffocated, became black in face, gasped, and died
- Death allegedly resulted from combination of chloroform acting in unusual/unexpected way and an unknown cause
- Allegation: death would not have resulted from chloroform alone, but from co-operation of chloroform and unknown cause
Disputed questions
- Whether death was caused solely by external, violent, and accidental means
- Whether death falls within policy exceptions
Procedural history
3 steps- Plaintiff filed suit on insurance policy
- Defendant demurred on ground declaration sets forth no cause of action
- Case heard on demurrer
Evidence in the record
- Policy of insurance issued to insured
- Declaration and amendments describing death circumstances
- Allegations in declaration about physician's actions and cause of death
- Insurance policy
- Declaration and amendments
- Allegation that unknown cause cooperated with chloroform
Objects of relevance
Policy considerations
- Insurance policies should be construed favorably to insured but within ordinary meaning of terms
- Exceptions in policies must be given effect to define scope of coverage
Authorities
Cited authorities (3)
Related cases (3)
Standards & doctrines
- De novo review for legal issues
- Sole causation doctrine in insurance law
Legal principles applied
- Insurance policies construed favorably to insured consistent with ordinary meaning
- Plaintiff bears burden to show death within policy terms
Notable quotes
“The policy is limited in its scope, and the cause of death must come within the limitation.”NEWMAN, District Judge — Discussing why unknown cause combined with known cause does not create liabilityEmphasizes strict interpretation of policy terms and burden on plaintiff
“If there could be no recovery in that case (and I am not prepared to question its correctness), certainly there can be none in this.”NEWMAN, District Judge — Referring to Bayless v. Insurance Co. as controlling precedentShows reliance on prior case to deny recovery here